2018 Kentucky Derby Winner

Justify shakes off Churchill Downs muddy track, and wins 144th Kentucky Derby in commanding performance. Justify just became the first colt in 136 years to wear the roses after not racing as a 2-year-old.

2017 Kentucky Derby Winner

Always Dreaming became the winner of the Kentucky Derby 2017 143th leaving behind Lookin At Lee, Battle of Midway and Classic Empire. Having reached second and third place in its previous races, Always Dreaming managed to position itself on the podium of the winners with a 2 and 3 quarter of a lead advantage over its closest competitors.

2016 Kentucky Derby Winner

Nyquist wins the 142nd running of the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs, keeping pace with the early leader, Danzig Candy through the far turn before pushing hard in the final quarter mile to ultimately take the lead as the other horse fell behind. Nyquist was jockeyed by Mario Gutierrez and trained by Doug O'Neill, took the victory over Exaggerator and Gun Runner. Gun Runner originally took the lead from Danzig Candy, and Exaggerator made a huge push down the final stretch.

2015 Kentucky Derby Winner


American Pharoah - 2015 Kentucky Derby Winner

On May 2, started as the 2.9-1 favorite in an eighteen-runner field for the 141st running of the Kentucky Derby at Churchill Downs. His opponents included Dortmund (Santa Anita Derby), Carpe Diem (Breeders' Futurity Stakes, Blue Grass Stakes), Firing Line (Sunland Derby), Frosted (Wood Memorial), Materiality (Florida Derby), Mubtaahij (UAE Derby), and Upstart (Holy Bull Stakes). Espinoza positioned the colt in third place early in the race as Dortmund took the lead, followed closely by Firing Line. The three remained ahead of the pack throughout the race, and broke clear of their rivals entering the straight with American Pharoah making a forward move on the outside. The favorite took the lead entering the final furlong and won by a length from Firing Line and Dortmund, with Frosted finishing strongly in fourth.

2014 Kentucky Derby Winner


California Chrome - 2014 Kentucky Derby Winner

California Chrome became the first California-bred horse to win the Derby since Decidedly in 1962. For jockey Victor Espinoza, it was his second Kentucky Derby win, his first coming in 2002 when he rode War Emblem to victory.
The race was broadcast in the United States on the NBC television network. The attendance for the race was 164,906, the second-largest after the 2012 race with 165,307 spectators.



Orb - 2013 Kentucky Derby Winner

The favorite, Orb, won a purse of $1.4 million with a final time of 2:02.89, with Golden Soul finishing second and Revolutionary placing third. The win gave Hall of Fame trainer and native Kentuckian Shug McGaughey his first career Kentucky Derby victory.
For the first time, the colts making the field in the Kentucky Derby qualified under a new points system. In years past, colts qualified based on graded stakes earnings.

Full List of Kentucky Derby Winners (click here)

US CITIZENS: The information contained herein is for entertainment and news matter only. Any use of this information in violation of federal, state and local law is strictly prohibited. Offers by offshore sportsbooks advertising on this site are void in states where prohibited by law. Please check with your local or state enforcement agency.